Minnesota's 90th Legislative Session to Convene January 3, 2017

It’s a whole new political world - at the federal level and closer to home.  Minnesota’s 90th Legislative Session begins on January 3, 2017.

Minnesota House

Republicans retained control of the Minnesota House of Representatives on Election Day, enlarging their majority by three seats to 76-57. The coming weeks will be spent reorganizing the committee structure, including naming committee chairs and member appointments.

One House seat remains to be filled. Voters in District 32B are scheduled to go to the polls for a special election Feb. 14, 2017. The state Supreme Court ruled in September that the incumbent was ineligible to run because he doesn’t live in the district.

Current House Speaker Kurt Daudt (R-Crown) and Majority Leader Joyce Peppin (R-Rogers) retained their leadership positions and Rep. Melissa Hortman (DFL-Brooklyn Park) will assume the role of House Minority Leader.

Minnesota Senate Changes Hands

In January, Senate Republicans will hold a 34-33 majority. This changed control was seen as unlikely given the DFL’s 38-28 (one seat open) advantage coming into the election. Republicans last controlled the Senate for two years following the 2010 election. Prior to 2010, the Senate had not been controlled by the Republicans since 1971. Senators have a four year term.

New Senate leadership will take the helm in January 2017.  They include:

Senate President – Michelle Fischbach (R-Paynesville)

Senate Majority Leader — Paul Gazelka (R-Nisswa)

Senate Minority Leader – Tom Bakk (DFL-Cook)