91st Legislative Session

The 2019 Legislative Session will convene on January 8, 2019.

With a large turnout, Minnesotans went to the Polls on November 6th.  As a result, there will be a lot a new faces in Congress and in the Minnesota State Capitol.

The Minnesota Senate will stay in Republican hands following the special election in Senate District 13 where the Republican prevailed over the DFL candidate. Republicans will retain their 34-33 majority for the 2019 Legislative Session.  Sen. Jeremy Miller (R-Winona) has been elected by his caucus to be the new Senate President. 

The Minnesota House of Representatives flipped to the DFL from Republican control. The DFL went from having 57 seats to 75 seats while the Republicans went from 77 seats to 59 seats. 

Rep. Melissa Hortman (DFL-Brooklyn Park) has been elected Speaker of the House by her caucus.  The House Majority Leader will be Rep. Ryan Winkler (DFL – Golden Valley).  The House Minority Leader will be Rep. Kurt Daudt (R-Crown).

It's the first time since 1914 that only one U.S. state will have a divided legislature, according to the National Conference of State Legislatures.

Minnesotans elected Democrats to serve as governor, lieutenant governor, attorney general, secretary of state, and state auditor – all the statewide offices.

Congressman Tim Walz (DFL) & state Representative Peggy Flanagan (DFL) prevailed over Hennepin County Commissioner Jeff Johnson (R) & retired Lieutenant Colonel Donna Bergstrom (R) to be the state's next governor and lieutenant governor.

With the changing of the Majority Party in the MN House, Committees and Committee Chairs have not yet been assigned.  There will likely be some changes in Committee Chairs in the MN Senate.

The Legislature will be charged with passing a State Budget this Session.